Board of Directors

The Board of Directors for Fermilab was established by Fermi Research Alliance, LLC. The Board’s role is to provide guidance, oversight, direction, and advice to laboratory management with respect to scientific and technical issues, long-range objectives, budget and facility plans, cooperative research and development, and other matters, and the relationship with the US Department of Energy's Office of Science under the prime contract.

The FRA Board of Directors is chaired by University of Chicago President Robert Zimmer. Members include senior officers of Illinois’ leading research universities as well as universities from outside of Illinois, and national and international leaders in science and industry.

Read about the pending board restructuring >>


Marta Cehelsky
Executive Director, Universities Research Association

Katherine “Kate” Gregory
Rear Admiral, US Navy (retired)

Rolf Heuer
President Elect, German Physical Society

Eric D. Isaacs, PhD
Executive Vice President for Research, Innovation and National Laboratories

Andrea Meloni
Italian Ambassador

Sam Pitroda
Former Advisor to the Prime Minister of India on Public Information Infrastructure & Innovation

Steven Ritz
Professor of Physics and SCIPP Director, University of California, Santa Cruz

Jimmy Samartzis
Vice President, Food Services and Airport Lounges, United

Maxine Savitz
Vice-Chair, President’s Council of Advisors on and Technology (PCAST)

Lou Anna K. Simon, Vice Chair
President, Michigan State University

F. Quinn Stepan
Chairman, Stepan Company

John Womersley
Chief Executive Officer, Science and Technology Facilities Council

Robert Zimmer, Chair
President, University of Chicago